Royal United Services Institute of Australia

RUSI of New South Wales

The Councillors

His Excellency, General The Honourable David Hurley, AC, DSC (Ret’d) Governor of New South Wales

Vice Patrons:
Rear Admiral Stuart Mayer, CSC & Bar, RAN, Commander Australian Fleet
Major General P W (Gus) Gilmore, AO DSC, Commander Forces Commander
Major General Stephen Porter, AM, Commander 2nd Division
Air Vice-Marshal Gavin Turnbull, Air Commander Australia
Mr Chris Jenkins, Chief Executive Officer, Thales Australia and New Zealand
Major General Steven Smith AM, CSC, RFD

To get to know about council members activate the button against the councillor's name.


Major General RP (Paul) Irving, AM, PSM, RFD (Ret’d)

President Emeritus:
Brigadier DR (David) Leece PSM, RFD, ED (Retd)

Vice Presidents
Colonel John M Hutcheson MC; ACM; TSM {RVN} and Bar; Ph.D; BE; BCom; MBA

Immediate Past President:
Group Captain DJ (Doug) Roser (Retd)

Mr JC (John) Rudd

Mr Graham Brown

Public Officer:
Colonel KR (Kim) Turner, RFD

Councillors Elected by the Members
Mr J (Jim) Braid
Lieutenant Colonel KJ (Ken) Broadhead, RFD (Retd)
Lieutenant Colonel PK (Peter) Court, RFD, ED (Retd)
Commodore Mike Flynn, RANR (Retd)
Mr JC (John) Rudd
Miss DE (Dominique) Spoelder
Colonel KR (Kim) Turner, RFD
Professor Michael Hough AM RFD ED
Captain Matthew Seabrook
Lieutenant Colonel Lyall Wood AM RFD (Retd)

Councillors Emeritus
Flight Lieutenant SJ (Stuart) Doyle
Lieutenant GMcN (Geoffrey) Ellison, CA, MAICS (Retd)
Major General GL (Gordon) Maitland, AO, OBE, RFD. ED (Retd)
Rear Admiral AL (Tony) Hunt, AO, RAN (Retd)
Air Vice-Marshal RB (Bob) Treloar, AO, RAAF Reserve

Honorary Auditor (ex officio):
Ronald CG Grace, JP, FCPA, FCIS, FGIC

Office Manager and Librarian:
Ms T (Theo) Fox BA (Lib Sci)

RUSIDSS-A Contact details:
Peter McDermott, Company Secretary. Herbert (Mickey) Michaelis,  National Support Manager and Hon Treasurer.            Queries on website and membership:

Mail address: 
CP3-1-155 PO Box 7912 CANBERRA BC ACT 2610. Telephone: 02 6266 3446.

Special Thanks: 
The RUSIDSS-A gratefully acknowledges the support of the Department of Defence for its continuing assistance.

Queries on website and membership: 
Our major sponsor, Rolls-Royce Australia, underwrites the production of this website.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software